2014 Chancellor's Outstanding Staff Award winners Christopher Hunn and Shirley Salanio with their supervisor, Susanne Kauer (center)

Staff Awards

Members of our staff have won almost every campus staff excellence award as well as a number of other prestigious honors.

Discover the EECS Zeilinger Award

Campus Honors

Berkeley Citation

Among the highest awards bestowed upon members of the UC Berkeley community, this citation honors those who have rendered distinguished or extraordinary service to the University over the course of their careers.

  • Wil Zeilinger, 1991
  • Toni Sweet, 1993
  • Ruth Tobey, 2002
  • Sheila Humphreys, 2013

Chancellor’s Distinguished Service Award

Among the highest honors bestowed upon staff by the Chancellor, this award recognizes members of the UC Berkeley community who have provided extraordinary service to the University.

  • Pamela Bostelman, 1989 (then called Distinguished Achievement)
  • Kate Riley, 2012

Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Award (COSA)

Among the highest honors bestowed upon staff by the Chancellor, COSAs are presented to individuals and teams who, in addition to performing their normal job duties with excellence, also demonstrate exceptional initiative in contributing to the UC Berkeley campus community.

  • Kate Hubben (Riley), 1991 (then called Special Achievement
  • Chris Colbert, 1998
  • Cindy Manly-Fields, 1999
  • Hua-Pei Chen, 2001
  • Sheila Humphreys, 2011
  • Kate Riley, 2011
  • Christopher Hunn, 2014
  • Jean Richter, 2014
  • Shirley Salanio, 2014
  • Tiffany Reardon, 2015
  • Josephine Williamson, 2017

Berkeley Staff Assembly Certificate of Excellence in Management (EIM)

Selected by career employees and bestowed by the Berkeley Staff Assembly, this award recognizes outstanding managers and supervisors.

  • Hervé Da Costa, 1989
  • Kate Riley, 1997
  • Sheila Humphreys, 2000
  • Kate Riley, 2008
  • Susanne Kauer, 2014
  • Josephine Williamson, 2015
  • Christopher Hunn, 2015
  • Eric Fraser, 2018
  • Emerald Templeton, 2018
  • Audrey Sillers, 2022
  • Finsen Chiu, 2022

Berkeley Excellence in Advising Awards

Recognizes exceptional performance and innovation in advising and student support.

Outstanding Advising or Student Support Team Award

  • EECS Undergraduate Matters: Cindy Conners, Charlene Duncan, Carol Marshall, Andrea Mejia Valencia, Nicole McIntyre, Lydia Raya, Michael-David Sasson, and Lily Zhang, 2017

Equity Champion Award

  • Christopher Hunn, 2020-21

Outstanding Advising or Student Services Administrator, Director, or Manager Award

Antoine Davis, 2020-21

UC Berkeley Distinguished Service Team Award

Teams are recognized for successful achievement of a project, initiative or milestone supporting unit or department goals and Berkeley’s Administrative Vision, Principles and Values.

  • Sheila Humphreys, 1999
    For Recruitment and Retention of Undergraduate Women

Prytanean Women’s Honor Society

The first women’s honor organization in the country, founded at Berkeley in 1901.  Members are high achieving UC Berkeley alumnae dedicated to “faith, service and loyalty to the University of California.”

  • Sheila Humphreys (honorary), 1982
  • Susanne Kauer

National Honors

Dr. Sheila Humphreys (blue jacket in front) receiving the 2012 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring from President Obama (Official White House Photo by Pete Souza)

Sheila Humphreys (blue jacket, left) with President Barack Obama

Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring

Bestowed by the President of the United States, PAESMEM recognizes outstanding efforts of mentors in encouraging the next generation of innovators and developing a science and engineering workforce that reflects the diverse talent of America.

  • Sheila Humphreys, 2012

Computing Research Association A. Nico Habermann Award

CRA bestows this annual award to those who have made outstanding contributions aimed at increasing the numbers and/or successes of underrepresented members in the computing research community.

  • Sheila Humphreys, 1999

WEPAN Women in Engineering Program Award

This award, presented by the Women in Engineering ProActive Network, recognizes an outstanding Women In Engineering (WIE) program that serves as a model for other institutions.

  • EECS Center for Undergraduate Matters, EECS Excellence and Diversity Program (Sheila Humphreys), 2002

NCWIT Transformation (NEXT) Award

The National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT) Extension Services (ES) Transformation (NEXT) Award for Excellence in Promoting Women in Undergraduate Computing is given to ES clients who have demonstrated a strong commitment to and proven results in recruiting and retaining women into undergraduate computing programs.

  • The L&S Computer Science Major (Christopher Hunn and Audrey Sillers), 2019

Network World User Excellence Award

Network World’s User Excellence Award honors enterprise network projects that stand as examples of how Network IT Executives use and adapt technologies or apply new infrastructure technologies to solve business problems

  • IRIS network staff, 2003
    For Exceptional Usage of Airespace WLAN Technology

International Honors

Gold Cross of Merit of the Republic of Hungary

A national recognition from the Hungarian Office of the President which is awarded for advancing the interests of the independent and democratic Hungary.

  • Katalin Voros, 2009
    For helping maintain the identity of the Hungarian community in Northern California and solidifying the interaction of Hungarian scientists with the United States