July 17, 2024

Jessica Boles wins ARPA-E IGNIITE Early Career Award

EECS Assistant Professor Jessica Boles has won an ARPA-E Inspiring Generations of New Innovators to Impact Technologies in Energy 2024 (IGNIITE) Early Career Award. Boles is one of 23 recipients receiving approximately $500,000 to advance their research and convert “disruptive ideas into impactful energy technologies.” The IGNIITE 2024 selectees were…

July 15, 2024

Berkeley EECS theory group wins STOC 2024 Best Paper Award

EECS and Mathematics Professor Venkatesan Guruswami, EECS graduate students Xuandi Ren and Kewen Wu, Nanjing University Professor Bingkai Lin, and Peking University graduate student Yican Sun have won a Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC) Best Paper Award. Their paper, “Parameterized Inapproximability Hypothesis under Exponential Time Hypothesis” was presented at the…

July 8, 2024

Berkeley EECS win awards at CVPR

CS Assistant Professor Angjoo Kanazawa has won the IEEE / CVF Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition Conference (CVPR) Young Researcher Award. The award recognizes researchers who have made distinguished contributions to Computer Vision within seven years of receiving their Ph.D. Kanazawa currently leads the Kanazawa AI Research (KAIR) Lab under…

July 3, 2024

Sayeef Salahuddin wins the IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award

EECS Professor Sayeef Salahuddin has won the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Andrew S. Grove Award. The IEEE Technical Field Awards are among IEEE’s most prestigious. The Andrew S Grove Award recognizes an individual or team for outstanding contributions to solid-state devices…

June 27, 2024

Umesh Vazirani wins SIGecom Test-Of-Time Award

EECS Professor Umesh Vazirani has won the 2024 ACM SIGecom Test 0f Time Award. The SIGecom Test of Time Award honors the author or authors of a seminal paper or series of papers published between ten and twenty-five years ago, which has had a profound impact on research or applications,…

June 18, 2024

Sophia Shao wins Anita Borg Early Career Award

EECS Assistant Professor Sophia Shao has won the Anita Borg Early Career Award (BECA) from the Computing Research Association’s Committee on Widening Participation in Computing Research (CRA-WP). The BECA honors the late Anita Borg, a pioneering member of CRA-WP, and reflects her dedication to advancing women’s participation in computing research.

June 14, 2024

Berkeley EECS researchers win Best Showcase Award at the ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit

EECS graduate students Logan Horowitz, Syed Tahmid Mahbub, Jiarui Zou, and Professor Robert Pilawa-Podgurski have received a Best Showcase Award at the 2024 ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit. In collaboration with a team from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and other academic and industry partners, the Berkeley team developed technology that…

May 31, 2024

Governor Newsom convenes GenAI leaders for landmark summit

California Governor Gavin Newsom and leaders representing technology, government, academia, labor, civic organizations and more convened at the Joint California Summit on Generative AI to collaborate on and examine this transformative technology. The summit included CDSS Dean and EECS Professor Jennifer Chayes, EECS Associate Professor Matei Zaharia, and EECS alumna…

May 14, 2024

The 2024 EECS Distinguished Alumni

The EECS Department is proud to present the 2024 Distinguished Alumni Awards in Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences. The Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Sciences has established a Distinguished Alumni Award to recognize valuable contributions made by the distinguished alumni of Berkeley to the fields of Electrical Engineering and…

May 3, 2024

Irene Chen and Preeya Khanna win Google Research Scholar Awards

EECS Assistant Professors Irene Chen and Preeya Khanna are recipients of Google Research Scholar Awards. The program aims to support early-career professors and provides recipients with up to $60,000 in funding to support world-class research. Of the four UC Berkeley recipients this year, Chen and Khanna were honored for their…