Listed in chronological order of ACM A.M. Turing award.

Richard Karp

Talk: Computational Complexity in Theory and in Practice – October 24, 2018

Won in 1985 for NP-completeness

For his continuing contributions to the theory of algorithms including the development of efficient algorithms for network flow and other combinatorial optimization problems, the identification of polynomial-time computability with the intuitive notion of algorithmic efficiency, and, most notably, contributions to the theory of NP-completeness.

Turing Award Lecture:  Combinatorics, complexity, and randomness

William Kahan

Talk: A Numerical Analyst Thinks about Deep Learning – November 7, 2018

Won in 1989 for IEEE 754 Floating Point Standard

For his fundamental contributions to numerical analysis. One of the foremost experts on floating-point computations. Kahan has dedicated himself to “making the world safe for numerical computations.

Turing Award Lecture:  Better to prescribe arithmetic than describe it (no transcript)

Manuel Blum

Talk: Towards a Conscious AI: A Computer Architecture Inspired by Neuroscience – October 17, 2018

Won in 1995 for Computational Complexity

In recognition of his contributions to the foundations of computational complexity theory and its application to cryptography and program checking.

Turing Award Lecture: Alan Turing and the other theory of computing and can a machine be conscious?

Andrew Chi-Chih Yao

Talk: Game Theory in Auction and Blockchain – November 14, 2018

Won in 2000 for Public Key Protocols

In recognition of his fundamental contributions to the theory of computation, including the complexity-based theory of pseudorandom number generation, cryptography, and communication complexity.

Silvio Micali (Ph.D. ’82) and Shafi Goldwasser (M.S. ’81/Ph.D. ’84)

Shafi’s talk: From Basic Idea to Impact: The Story of Modern Cryptography – September 26, 2018
Silvio’s talk: Proofs, Knowledge, and Computation – October 3, 2018

Won in 2012 for Probabilistic Encryption

For transformative work that laid the complexity-theoretic foundations for the science of cryptography and in the process pioneered new methods for efficient verification of mathematical proofs in complexity theory.

Turing Award Lectures: The Cryptographic Lens and Proof According to Silvio

Michael Stonebraker

Talk: The Land Sharks are on the Squawk Box – October 31, 2018

Won in 2014 for Postgres Database

For fundamental contributions to the concepts and practices underlying modern database systems.

Turing Award Lecture: Postgres

David Patterson

Talk: A new Golden Age for Computer Architecture – October 10, 2018

Won with John Hennessy in 2017 for RISC I-IV

For pioneering a systematic, quantitative approach to the design and evaluation of computer architectures with enduring impact on the microprocessor industry.

Turing Award Lecture: A New Golden Age for Computer Architecture: Domain-Specific Hardware/Software Co-Design, Enhanced Security, Open Instruction Sets, and Agile Chip Development