The 2019 EECS Distinguished Alumni

Berkeley EECS has established a Distinguished Alumni Award to recognize the valuable contributions of its most distinguished alumni.

EE alumnus Sharad Malik (M.S. ’87/EE Ph.D ’90, advisor: Robert k. Brayton), currently chair of Electrical Engineering at Princeton, was recognized for excellence in teaching, and groundbreaking research on design methodologies for future computing systems.

EE alumnus Ahmad Bahai (EE Ph.D ’94, advisor: Pravin Varaiya), CTO of Texas Instruments, was recognized for guiding breakthrough innovations in industry and for fundamental contributions to the development of Multi-Carrier Digital Communications Theory and Applications of OFDM.

CS alumnus Andrew Ng (CS Ph.D ’03, adviser: Michael Jordan), Stanford Professor, Co-founder of Coursera and CEO of Landing AI, was recognized for seminal contributions to online education and innovative teaching in Machine Learning and MOOCs.

CS alumnus Amin Vahdat (B.S. ’92/ CS Ph.D ’98, advisor: Thomas Anderson), Technical Lead for networking at Google, Google Fellow, was recognized for research and industrial leadership in scalable datacenter network designs that are deployed across the globe and used by many millions of people daily.

The 2019 Distinguished Alumni Awards will be presented at the Berkeley EECS Annual Research Symposium (BEARS) on February 14, 2019.